Books, movie

A penny for my thought (The Maze Runner)

image

I recently read this book, it took me nearly a month to do so -not that it wasn’t an interesting book- I really liked it.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers all boys whose memories are also gone.
Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out-and no one’s ever made it through alive.
Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

The book is written in third person narrative (or second I don’t know) which I love because unlike first person narrative you get every detail of the story. Seeing that the narrator only follows Thomas, we didn’t get the whole story, which is cool -can’t give everything away- but I would have love to know what someone else going through like the girl. I think it would have been a way better (and emotional) book if it was written in first person narrative.

In the beginning it was kind of hard keeping up with all the characters being introduce. I think that’s just me but as I read further I got a feel of the main characters and the roleo they played.
At first Thomas was confuse, he didn’t know where he was and why he was there, he had no memory other than his name and I felt that confusion while reading. (Still would preferred the first person narrative).

This books is packed with suspense, action from the beginning to the end, there weren’t that many dull moments. Its on the dark side with Gievers, which scare the klunk out of me. Oh, the book is full of really cool termologies “Gladers slang.” Klunk, greenie, shank, I don’t want to give too much away.

By now you know that its been adapted into a movie. The Maze Runner works because of it’s plot, its original. Yes it is a YA dystopia novel like the Hunger Games and Divergent etc with a “government” trying to control it’s youth. I like that this have a male protagonist (not that I’m against female leads). Dylan O’Brien is cast as Thomas, you may know him as Stiles from Teen Wolf and movies like The First Time and The Internship.

You should definitely read the book, not because its turned into a movie, its a good read especially if your into YA novels.

Check out the trailer which is out and let me know you what your thoughts are, if you read the book or not.
Are you excited to see the movie??

COMMENT!! COMMENT!! COMMENT!!

Standard

10 thoughts on “A penny for my thought (The Maze Runner)

  1. Loved your analysis, and the good points about third versus first person narrative for the book forms of YA story made into film. The moss-covered stone maze structure is a visually compelling metaphor. Glad to know about your site!

    Like

  2. Love the first two books, but the third book was a bit disappointing. The Maze Runner is excellent as an audiobook. The narrator gives the characters life and just hearing them say the book’s slang words was great; shank, clunk, good that, shuck, etc. The movie adaptation looks good. Might go see it since I love the first book. ~ Rosalie

    Like

  3. Pingback: Friday Lovin’: No. 002 | HELLO WACKY LEMON

  4. They made a movie out of “The Maze Runner”? I guess they’ll make a movie out of anything. What a dreary book that was! I live in New Jersey. If I want dreary, I can just look out the window.

    Like

  5. smilelydot says:

    The trailer was so epic! loved it. I really enjoyed the book but there were parts where he always repeated how frustrated he was about how ppl didnt tell him stuff and as readers it was annoying

    Like

  6. I’m definitely interested in the film, the trailer looks like a cross between Lord of the Flies and Attack on Titan. I just hope it doesn’t end up being another okay or sub-par book to film adaptations. I probably read the book because I’m not really a book guy, however I’m glad to know that its a good read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

