Books, movie

A penny for my thoughts (If I Stay)

image

I hate having high expectations when reading a book because I always end up getting disappointed and that’s what happened with this book. Its overrated. I expected to ball my eyes out while reading but that moment never came. With that said, was it a good book? Of course it is, matter of fact it was one of the easiest books I’ve read in a while.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make. -Goodreads.

If I Stay was beautifully written there wasn’t a chapter in the book that fell flat, the words flow easily. After a car accident left Mia floating through life and death she has to make a decision if she should go (with her parents) or if she should stay. During her decision their are numerous flashback with her family, friends and,of how she fell in love.

I loved all the flashback it showed you who Mia was and why she was the person she is. Why she played the cello while her parents and boyfriend were punk rockers. It showed the strength and depth music have on someone’s life.

I knew which choice she was going to make in the middle of the book, I predicted it, that doesn’t make the book predictable. I’m just really attentive. Knowing what going to happen didn’t ruin the book for me cause I like the way in which it happened.

If I Stay pulled on my heart but I just didn’t feel a connection with Mia and her parents, or her boyfriend. It’s a good book but I just didn’t feel a connection.

If I Stay is being adapted into a film which is being release on August 22. The trailer is out now and it looks really nice, I already feel like the connection with the trailer.

Have you read the book, I would love to know what your thoughts on it? If you haven’t read the book are you going to see the movie?
COMMENT!! COMMENT!! COMMENT!!

Standard

16 thoughts on “A penny for my thoughts (If I Stay)

    • MovieGeek says:

      I read a review for Where She Went, it looks interesting. But I don’t know who’s the protagonist. Is Mia still the one telling the story or is it Adam?

      Like

      • sarahsunshine98 says:

        Adam, but it is still good. It may be written from both sides, but I read it 2years ago and may have forgotten. But I know its written from Adam’s for sure. You should read it, it’s amazing!

        Like

  1. I hate overhyped books. Which is mostly why it took me so long to add this book to my TBR. But honestly I may not even read it. Especially if I watch the movie before I read the book. I hate reading books after I’ve seen their movie adaptations.

    Like

  2. I really need to read this book! I wasn’t sure if I would like it, but I actually watched the movie trailer not knowing exactly what the concept to this book/movie was about and I realized that I HAVE to read it! It looks incredible. Wonderful review!

    Like

    • MovieGeek says:

      Thanks!! Its was on my TBR list for a while now and after I saw the trailer I had to read, the trailer really did look interesting and I can’t wait until to watch the movie.

      Like

  3. Lol i just posted a review of this book as well! I have actually never heard of this book’s hype, I just wanted to read it because it was apparently similar to TFIOS and I was like, sure. I cried my eyes out, I bawled more than ever because sometimes fate is so unfair and I put myself in her situation and I could not handle that thought. It is a very beautiful book and I guess maybe I am just a cry baby. Lol 🙂

    Like

    • MovieGeek says:

      Lol I’m a big cry baby too, I can’t even think about TFIOS without getting teary eyes I don’t know how I’m going to make it through the movie. I cant put myself in Mia’s situation I couldn’t handle it. Spoiler Alert I did feel it when she realize Teddy died because I have a baby brother too, u kinda cry while reading that part. I be sure to check out your review on it.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Box Office Breakdown (August 22) | GeekedOutMovies

Leave a Reply

