Books

A penny for my thought (Thirteen Reasons Why)

 

 

   Clay Jensen returns home from school to find a mysterious box with his name on it lying on his porch. Inside he discovers cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker—his classmate and crush—who committed suicide two weeks earlier. On tape, Hannah explains that there are thirteen reasons why she decided to end her life. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out how he made the list.

Two weeks ago I heard of this book on WWW Wednesday an weekly event by MizB from Should Be Reading. I found it really interesting so I went to the library and they didn’t have it, the library in my neighborhood never have the books I’m looking for. So I went to the mall and bought the book, this was Sunday afternoon and by Monday I finish read the book.

I can say this book was hauntingly beautiful, well written which is true and who have read the book knows this and who haven’t know you know. But I’m going to talk about how I felt reading the book.

While reading I found myself very upset mad, and irritated I can’t say which part of the book I felt this way. I had to put the book down and walk around my room to calm down – I’m very dramatic – I was made at the author Jay Asher. How dare he writes a book about a girl committing suicide and blaming people for it. But by the end of the book I realized, that it’s more that a book about suicide, it’s about bullying, snowball effects, speaking up, opening up and taking chances or not taking chances.

I did cry while reading the book, but I didn’t know I was crying I just felt the tears running down my face. I do remember the part I cried – NO SPOILERS – when Hanna gave up. It made me remember the times when I thought about giving up, I had people who want the best for me. It made me thought what would have happened or what would I have done if I didn’t them cheering for me.

 Yes, I thought about what would happen if I die, not if I commit suicide but I have thought about that too. Haven’t we all? There’s a line in the book that explains this: “Sometimes we have thoughts that even we don’t understand. Thoughts that aren’t even true – that aren’t really how we feel – but they’re running through our heads anyway because they’re interesting to think about.”

Everyone teenager should read this book, it will make you think about the things you do and say. Everything we do and say have a snowball effect and you don’t want to be a contributing factor to someone sadness.

Have you read the book, what did you think of it and how did it affect you?

COMMENT!! COMMENT!! COMMENT!!

 

Standard

8 thoughts on “A penny for my thought (Thirteen Reasons Why)

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday (August 20) | GeekedOutMovies

  2. I read Thirteen Reasons Why a couple years ago. From what I can remember, it was so deeply sad and touching to me how Hannah’s life disintegrated without anyone realizing. The book gave me chills as she narrated the roles that all sorts of people played that resulted in her taking her own life. My heart ached for Clay, who’d loved her but had not been able to save her. I found it insightful and definitely tragic.

    Like

  3. I was mad at Hanna for putting Clay on her list. I thought it was really unfair to put all of that weight on him, but not blame him. I didn’t feel bad for Hanna because I felt she was too quick to point the finger and not look at herself.

    Like

  4. I read Thirteen Reasons Why a few years ago – before I could accept the fact that I was battling with depression. When I picked up the book and read that the main character’s name was Hannah, I was sold. Of course the book about suicide is about a girl named Hannah…the book was meant for me! Anywho, this book spoke to my heart – I could even say it was what forced me to accept my depression and suicidal ideation. It was the catalyst that encouraged me to speak to my doctor about my depressive behavior. It allowed me to speak up. And when a book doubles as a life raft for those who are drowning – that it a successful book in my eyes. Thanks for the review. I’ll have to read it again soon.

    Like

Leave a Reply

